Favorites

June Favorites │ 2017

What an amazing month June has been!

Not only did I turn 25, but I graduated from school, and moved into the most perfect new apartment. For the past few months I had been meditating on how I felt that turning 25 was going to be a significant point in my life. Getting older has never bothered me, but sitting in and pondering that I had been alive on this planet for a quarter of a century blows my mind. I have experienced so much in these first 25 years of life.. and ushering in a new season with all of these changes really set the tone for the next.

me

Let’s just jump right into my favorites for this month..

Firstly, I have to talk about skincare. I went a little overboard (treat yo self!) and bought a bunch of products that I had been wanting to try – all of which focusing on moisturizing. There were several brands that I have heard about, and when my Ulta started to carrying the Reviva Labs product line I scooped up both the Hylauronic Acid Serum and Vitamin C Serum.

IMG_7924
This Shea Moisture moisturizer didn’t make the cut… I returned it to Ulta shortly after purchasing!

I personally thought the Vitamin C Serum has a neutral smell, but it did make my skin sensitive so I gave it to a friend. The hylauronic acid serum is amazing. This product feels like a gel, but as you apply it and work it into your skin it becomes silky and is almost instantly absorbed into the skin. I used this product both morning and night after cleansing and toning, before my moisturizer. Check out these ingredients!

Purified Water, Hyaluronic Acid, Carbomer, Green Tea Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin.

RevivaLabs as a brand is 100% cruelty free and made in the USA. What I love most about their brand is how affordable they are! I have held off on buying specific serums and acid peels because of their price tag (and not knowing their actual effectiveness)  – but I feel comfortable spending money on this brand because they really seem to deliver. I am excited to try more from their product range!

Carrying on with my trend of moisturizers, I picked a new night cream up from ZenjenSkin called Good Night MoonBeams Vitamin.  This was my first time trying anything from their line and right away I am impressed.

IMG_8310

Organic Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Colloidal Oatmeal, Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Juice, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) Fruit, Cetearyl Olivate, Sorbitan Olivate, Glyceryl Stearate, Organic Camellia Sinensis (White Tea) Leaf Extract, Lactobacillus Ferment, Organic Botanical Complex, (Chrysanthellum Indicum Extract & Equisetum Arvense Extract & Asparagopsis Armata Extract & Ascophyllum Nodosum Extract), Organic Oryza Sativa (Rice) Extract & Aspalathus Linearis (Rooibos) Extract, Organic Vitis Vinifera (Grapeseed) Oil, Organic Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Organic Sodium Hyaluronate, Brassica Oleraceae (Broccoli) Seed Oil, Organic Glycerin, Organic Tocopherol, Niacimide(B3), Xanthan Gum, Organic Sea Buckthorn Oil, Organic Sweet Orange Essential Oils.

I used this moisturizer for about a month, and so far I really like it. Aroma wise it smells very… natural? Almost citrusy? I’ve actually be using it both morning and night after cleansing and toning. The only negative thing I can say about this product is that I noticed when rubbing it in that there were little bits of product left on the surface of my skin. Not a huge deal – but when I was apply makeup afterwards I had to do a double take and make sure that it was evenly applied and completely absorbed.

A few days ago I also scooped up the Good Morning Shining Star face cleanser. After using it for the past few days I can say that I love the aroma, and for being an exfoliate it’s gentle enough for everyday use. With this product it’s recommended that you leave it sit on your skin for a few minutes while cleansing before rinsing off, and I’ve noticed that after using this steadily for a week my complexion looks a bit brighter. I can’t wait to try a few more products from this line!

Favorites wise I have been jamming out really hard to Soja this month, as I was able to see them on the 28th in Pittsburgh. What an amazing show! I have been waiting to see them for years.. it was definitely worth the wait! I’m still on cloud 9 reliving the night.

Bookwise this month I finished reading the Seven Spiritual Laws of Success by Deepak Chopra and I have to say WOW. This book is a tiny thing, but if I ever tried to find a written manifesto of every moral value or thing I try to practice in my life this is it. I turned reading this book into a month long project – and spent a week or so meditating on each law, and journaled on how I could apply it to my life. Really powerful medicine!

That’s all for this month – Cheers!

Michal

Leave a comment